The Seeds of my Soul

came from my Grandma.  We have many difference but we have very many similarities. I am beyond grateful for her and the family that she gave me. 

Image

 

My Grandma makes hands down the most loved carrot cake I have even come into contact with. I have been for bidden to give her recipe away.  A few years ago my Grandma made recipe binders for all the girls in the family. Real binder, a 2 inch binder full of recipes. Almost all of the recipes came from family member or have been in her collection for years.  Before handing over the ‘family bibles’ we each received a contract to sign. Stating that if we ever divulge the information in the binders that she would come haunt us in our sleep.  Not one ounce of my  being doubt her threat in anyway.  

 

This is a version of her carrot cake recipe. It’s my version and many ingredients are different. And, hell, I love the lady if she wants to come visit me in my dreams, why not?

Image

 

Healthy-er Carrot Cake:

Print Here

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 Cups oil
  • 1 Cup apple sauce
  • 1 Cups sugar
  • ½ Cup honey
  • 1½  Cup Flour Whole Wheat flour
  • ½ Cup All Purpose Flour
  • 2 Teas. cinnamon
  • 2 Teas. baking soda
  • 1/2 Teas. salt
  • 1 Cup pureed carrots (steam, boil or bake then run though the food processor)
  • 2 Cups shredded carrots
  • 3 large eggs

 

 

DIRECTIONS:

 

Mix sugar, honey, apple sauce and oil

add all the dry ingredients. 

Mix

Add carrots, both shredded and pureed, and the eggs.

Mix well

Add some toasted nuts and raisins if you’re into that.

Bake at 350 degrees, until you can poke it with a toothpick and the toothpick comes out clean.

About 45 mins for a 9×13. About 25 mins for cupcakes.

 

 

Icing:

  • 2 8 oz cream cheese softened (It’s ok to use the light one, I go half and half)
  • 1 stick butter softened
  • 2 teas vanilla    
  • 2 boxes powdered sugar
  • a few table spoons of maple syrup

Mix everything together, add milk if you need the icing thinner.

 

           

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Seeds of my Soul

  1. I’m sure your’s is even better than mine! I love you my ‘liss, I will try this recipe next time I make carrot cake. The next cookbook is on you to make !

Leave a Reply

