Grad Party- From the Food POV

This was the graduation party for my not-so-little-brother and his not-so-little-friends.

Let’s start, well, at the begging. The appetizer table. I needed something easy, something I could throw together in a matter of minutes, since everyone from the graduation, including me, would be arriving at the house at the same time. Needless to say, it had to taste good. I’m also trying really  hard to work limiting my appetizer to real appetizers so that people actually have room to eat dinner…I’m not very successful-but I keep trying. So, I thought a cheese and meat table would fit my qualifications. It did!-Except that whole not filling people up thing-still working on that. I bought a sliced meat tray at Cost Co, jazzed it up with slices of Spanish Chorizo. The cheese: a log of goat; hearty wedge of blue; some slices of sharp cheddar, Dubliner; a wheel of brie; marinated mozzarella balls; and a delightful whip of sun-dried tomatoes and cream cheese. I made some herbed toasts, herb-parmesan gougere, bought some crackers and one of those not-so-little-friends’ Grandmother made focaccia(YUM). Just for kick I included some honey and fig jam. My aunt came later and gave up some smoked albacore and picked asparagus. That not-so-little-boys’ Grandpa made some marinated artichokes and mushrooms that were divine and went with everything perfectly.

On to the main attraction

Pulled Pork Sliders, with Pineapple coleslaw

Bacon and Blue Cheese Studded Sliders, with Caramelized-Balsamic Red Onion Compote

Buffalo-Chicken Slides with Green Apple and Celery-Blue Cheese Slaw

Twice Baked, Three Cheese Potatoes with Roasted Garlic and Caramelized Onions

Green Bean and Roasted-Red Pepper Salad (previous post)

2 thoughts on “Grad Party- From the Food POV

  1. R U MAGIC?? HOW DO U DO ALL THIS? THANKS FOR MAKING THE PARTY SUCH A HUGE SUCCESS, THE FOOD WAS EXQUISITE AS WELL AS DELICIOUS, I JUST WANT TO LICK THE SCREEN RIGHT NOW LOOKING AT IT, WE ALL HAD AN AMAZING TIME………………THANK-YOU

  2. You are magic, I agree aunt Nikki! Liss, you are so talented in so many ways but your food selection, cooking, color coordination and assembly is off the damn hook!! What a lucky group of young men… CONGRATULATIONS NICK!! I love you all!! ❤

Leave a Reply

