The Tale of Two Tarts

When I know something works why do I look for something different? Especially at 10:00pm, after working two jobs, and coming home to make a fruit tart for my boss’ Birthday, that we were celebrating the next morning. I’m always creating these messes for myself.

Thanks to my Aunt, I have never-fail pie crust recipe; in addition to always working perfectly it also tastes good and is easy to make. So insisting on trying something new in the middle of the night probably wasn’t the wisest thing ever. But, for some reason rolling-out pie crust is a huge commitment and I am always reluctant to make such a commitment. So I consulted my friend, the world wide web, for a no-roll pie crust recipe.

The one I chose was very strange, but it was the only one I could find. I followed the direction, doubting it every step of the way. The whole time I thought this process was way too similar to cream-puff dough to produce a good crust. But, I continued on, I got as far as baking the crust before I went to the mixing bowl, whipped up and rolled out the never-fail-crust recipe.  I ended up cooking the press in crust recipe twice as long as the directions said to. I just didn’t think it would ever get crispy.  By the time I pulled the no-fail crust out of the oven the no-roll crust recipe had cooled and become crisp, of course. I had to fill both crust-you can’t let those go to waste. There you have the story behind these two:

Fruit Tart

I used:

This pastry cream recipe, with the addition of lemon extract and lemon zest and without the vanilla bean.

1 basket of strawberries, 2 small baskets of blackberries and 4 kiwis.

One no-fail crust recipe. (This comes from my Aunt, I can’t give her recipes away)

Apricot jam brushed over the top

And

Strawberry Cream Cheese Tart

(this was the step child of the two tarts. It was the after thought, but it turned out to be pretty darm good- with the non-roll crust and all!!)

Press-in Crust recipe

Cream cheese filling: ½ heavy whipped cream-whipped, blended with ½ cup sugar, 1 teaspoon almond extract, and 1 8 oz package of soft cream cheese.

1 basket of strawberries, sliced thinly and tossed with ¼ cup sugar and 2 Tablespoons of lemonchello.

I also put a thin layer of chocolate gnash in the bottom of the tart just for fun. Actually I heard people really liked this little touch. I think it was functional as well, sealing the crust from the cream cheese aiding in keeping the crust crisp.

4 thoughts on “The Tale of Two Tarts

Leave a Reply

