Oh-Why… (Artichoke Stuffed Chicken)

I’m a hot mess because______. (Fill in the blank- if you can, I’m sure many of you can’t because you are not a hott mess or any mess at all, so, in that case just tell me why you are hott)

Today I’m a mess because I made a ‘press-in-tart-dough’ when I knew better and am now on the second round of tart shell; because I’m typing this in bed-with the lights off because even-though I have a bedside light I haven’t gone to the trouble of pugging the darn thing in; because I’m typing this through one squinted eye, at a tilt because a few weeks ago I unknowingly duked it out with my glasses one night in my sleep and not they only have one ‘arm’; because I just found my back side and ALL the cellulite that is covering it…

And that folks was my daily rant.

On to more tasty items…Artichoke Stuffed Chicken

Artichoke Stuffed Chicken

  The What:
4 Chicken breasts, boneless-skinless
4 Marinated artichoke bottoms
1 Tbl minced garlic
2 Tbl each: shredded mozzarella, grated Parmesan and cream cheese
A few dashes of Tabasco
¼ cup Gewurztraminer Mustard*
1 cup Panko
The How:
Preheat oven to 425°     
In the bowl of a food processor add the three cheeses and the garlic, season with a little salt, pepper and a few dashes of Tabasco. Turn the processor on for 15 seconds, then open it up and make sure everything is chopped up and combine. If it’s not, stir the mixture up with a spoon and turn the processor back on. Repeat until the mixture is nicely mixed.
Next, create a pock in the chicken. Carefully, insert a sharp knife into the middle of one side of one of the chicken breasts. Pivot the blade of the knife from the top to the bottom on the breast without penetrating thought the chicken.  Repeat on remaining breasts. 
Use about 2 tablespoons of filling to stuff each chicken breast. Do not over fill. The slit that you made in the previous step should still be able to close when the chicken is stuffed.
Season the chicken with a little salt and pepper. 
Brush a thin layer of the mustard over the chicken. 
Pour the panko into a shallow bowl
Press each side of the mustard coated chicken in the panko to create a crust on the chicken.
Place the chicken on a baking sheet. Spray the chicken with a little olive oil. (You could use Pam, I suppose, but don’t tell me)
Bake the chicken at 425° for 30 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and the chicken is cooked through.
For a side dish a sliced some baking potatoes ¼ to ½  inch think, coated them with a little olive oil and a Cajun spice rub. I tossed them on the baking sheet with the potatoes, they were tender and a little crispy on the outside.
*Gewurztraminer Mustard, if you don’t have this get some from Navarro Winery. It’s some good stuff-I use it all the time on anything I can, but if you can’t wait for it to get to your house, use equal parts Dijon mustard, honey and white wine.

Nutrition Facts
4 Servings
Amount Per Serving
Calories 384.7
Total Fat 6.6 g
Total Carbohydrate 13.8 g
Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
Sugars 1.0 g
Protein 61.1 g

**Note: for this information I used low fat all low fat cheeses.




Leave a Reply

