Force Feeding

11 am

Me: “What are you doing today?”

Pork Hater: “I have to go into work and get some things ready for the week. What are you up to?

Me: “I don’t have much going on. I wanted to do running around today, but  like not really.”

Pork Hater: “Ok, well, I’ll touch base with you later.”

2pm

Me: “what are you doing?”

Pork Hater: “I’m at work. What are you doing?”

Me: “I’m driving in circles around your house. I can’t figure out why I left my house. I went to Trader Joes. All I could find to buy was wine and champagne.”

Pork Hater: “Well that sounds good. Let’s grab some food then go to your house.”

Me: “Ok, see you at Sushi.”

4pm and half a bottle of wine later.

Me: “Are you staying for diner.”

Pork Hater: “No, I think I’m done eating for the day. Why? What are you making?”

Me: “Nothing-but I thought I should think of something if you were staying for dinner.”

Pork Hater: “Oh ok, yeah I’m good. But thanks anyways.”

20 Minutes later

Me: “Will you eat some sundried tomato risotto?”

Pork Hater: “No, I’m done eating for the day.”

Me: “what about just a little bit?”

Pork Hater: “Well, I don’t want a full serving or anything but I guess I’ll try some if you make me.”

And thus you have dinner Sundried Tomato and Smoked Gouda Risotto with Herb Seared Chicken and Dijon Cream Sauce.

Neither of us actually ate more than 3 bites of this. We did finish the wine, and I packed up the food and brought it to work for a co-workers lunch. See, I’m on this week day diet- don’t eat good tasting food at work…. it doesn’t work don’t try it. I was jealous of her lunch all day. She said it was wonderful. The cream sauce is a little on the sweet side for a savory dish- too sweet for Pork Hater, but Work Taste Tester 1 and I liked it just fine!! The subtle sweetness from the sundried tomatoes went smashingly with the light smokiness from the smoked Gouda. I hadn’t planned on this combo but I’m out of normal food like parmesan cheese and fully stocked on random things like smoked gouda. But it’s darn tasty and I think you should try it…and you and you…and I think that covers all 5 people who might read this. Oh yeah- and Mom, I dare you to make this.

Sundried Tomato and Smoked Gouda Risotto

3 Tbl olive oil

1 cup onion, finally chopped (I use the food processor for this)

1 clove garlic, minced

1 ½ Abrio rice

½ cup sundried tomato, packed in oil and chopped

1 cup white wine

6 cups chicken stock

¾ cup shredded smoked gouda

½ cream

2 Tbl butta’

Heat a large pan over med heat. Add the olive oil and onions. Season with salt and pepper and cook until onions start to become translucent. Add the garlic. Cook for another three minutes. Stirring on and off so nothing gains any color.

Add the rice and ‘toast’ the rice. Stir it around in the pan for 5 minutes. Then add the sundried tomatoes and white wine. Allow the wine to reduce-until there is hardly any liquid in the pan.

Add one cup of the stock, sit and reduce. Again, until there is almost no liquid in the pan. Stir here and there the while time the liquid is reducing. Add the next cup of stock and repeat-stir-reduce-stir-add stock. Do this until the rice is soft  and the liquid has fully disappeared.

Add the cream and butter. (You can skip the cream, I just had some in the fridge. My morals pull me in different directions on different days when it comes to adding cream to risotto. And, since I really don’t know the right way-I do what I want when I want. Ha)  Stir everything together and add the cheese.  Stir this together while the cream evaporates and the cheese melts. When things look just on the soupy side of perfect remove the pan from the heat and it will thicken up just enough to become perfect.

One thought on “Force Feeding

  1. HEY Thanks for the great idea I will make this risotto ( I know it wont be as good as yours) and also I will try the pear/cherry adult beverage you mentioned, it sounds FUN like a good & tasty time…………………

Leave a Reply

