Pear-Almond Tea Cake

IMG_0420

I don’t like coffee. I do like the was some of it smells, other than that-I don’t make it, I don’t sever it, I’d like to toss out the coffee maker, I hate the mess of the grins, I hate the stains it leaves. Yuck. So I called this a tea-cake, it is not super sweet or anything. I think it’s best 2 days old, once everything has settled and all, ya’ know?

IMG_0417

Pear and Almond Tea Cake

2 Eggs

1 cup sugar

1 tes.  each vanilla and almond extract

1 cup butter milk

1 1/2 cups Flour

1 tea. each baking soda and baking powder

1 cup ground almonds

1/2 cup butter, browned

***

2 pears, sliced

***

1/4 cup butter, cubbed

1/2 brown sugar

2/3 cup oats

1/2 cup ground almonds

 

1. In the bowl of a mixer combine the eggs and sugar. Mx on medium for 3 minutes.

2. Add the extracts and butter milk.

3. Mix in the dry ingrediants

4. Pour the butter into mixture.

5. Pour batter into a prepared 9×13 pan

6. Layer the pear slices over the batter

7. Mix the remaining butter, oat, almonds and sugar in a food processor. Sprinkle this mix over the top of the pears.

8. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes or until the cake is set and the top is brown…warning-if you use the broiler to get an extra crisp…watch it carefully….wink wink.

IMG_0410

Leave a Reply

