Cookie Monster

images

That’s me.  I’m a cookie monster. Since I was little my Dad has called me Monster. I have no idea why, but I’m rolling with the cookie monster thing, roll with me.

cookie11
Many moons ago I started on my quest for the perfect chocolate chip cookie. Well, I’ve got news- it doesn’t exist. Stop looking. It’s something that’s totally relative to the person eating it. Me, I like cookies with a little crisp on the outside, chewy in the middle, not flat but not cake like and fluffy.

I have yet to try the CI cookie, with the brown butter, but I’m cracking under pressure. The recipe I’m sharing today comes from my ADD-right brain-ed attempt at following the NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe.

web7


The Chocolate Chip Cookie Staple

2 1/2 stick butter, room temp.
2 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 1/2 cups bread flour
1 cup All Purpose flour
2 cups chocolate. I know it sound silly but it’s so much better if you chop your own from a block rather then use the chips, I usually use chips because I’m lazy.

1. Cream together the sugars and the butter, cream then well. Turn on the mixer and walk away, use this time to measure out everything else you need.

2. Add eggs and vanilla. Mix for another 2 minutes.

3. Sift together the flours, baking soda and baking powder.

4. Put the flour mix into the mixer bowl. Cover the mixer with a kitchen towel and turn the mixed on. This helps not turn your kitchen into a white wonderland.

5. Mix until almost fully combined. Add in the chocolate and turn the mixer on one last time. Mix everything until it is combined.

6. Here’s the kicker, cover the dough and chill it. Days work better than hours but really anything’s better than nothing.

7. Bake the cookies at 350 for about 13 minutes. Do not over bake, it’s ok with they look a little on the white side in the middle….they’ll change as they cool.

Enjoy.

Again- since I’m Rozy’s Granddaughter, I make this recipe every other week. When the dough is chilled I use a small icecream scoop to form the dough balls. I cook 2 dozen and put the rest of the dough balls in a zip lock in the freezer. In theory the could go from freezer to sheet to oven…but some ones mouth gets in the way and they never make it to the baking sheet, more-less the oven.

Leave a Reply

