Blackened Halibut with Strawberry-Pear Ginger Salsa

I made this the other day for lunch. It was tastes and it looked so pretty. It was just me at home-me liked.

web2

I do have a recipe for the salsa. It took everything I had not to add honey to it.  I kept telling myself the fruit would be sweet enough on it’s own. It was and I will want to add honey, for no reason. I did not opt to add anything spicy to the salsa because I’m weak when it comes to spice and I knew the fish would have a bite.

I have yet to find a good blackened seasoning recipes, when I do I’ll make it all the time. For now this is what I put in it: brown sugar, thyme, cayenne pepper, ancho powered, salt, smoked paprika, Spanish paprika, dried onion (could not find onion powder anywhere!) garlic powder and cumin. Because I am me and I don’t measure very well, or remember very well I have no idea how much of what but it all went together in a zip lock  and the I rubbed it on the fish. Grilled the fish and found out that my BBQ is broken. The fish was good!!

8 to 10 Large Strawberries

1 Large pear

2 Tbsp minced ginger

2 springs green onion, minced

½ cup cilantro, minced

1 Lime, zested and juiced

Wash the strawberries, discard the green part at the top. Dice the berries into small pieces. Take the skin off the pear and dice it into same size pieces as the berries.

In a medium bowl add the pear and lime juice. Toss to coat the pear with the juice so it will not turn brown. Add the zest, cilantro and ginger. Toss to combine everything. Gently mix in the berries. Depending on how ripe the berries are they can be very juicy and turn everything red.

One thought on “Blackened Halibut with Strawberry-Pear Ginger Salsa

  1. Miss Liss,

    I a waiting for your chicken salad recipe that you described to me, yum yum, hurry up and post it. love you….grandma rozy (may an angel leave you a kiss on your pillow)

Leave a Reply

