Crossing the line, or trying

So I have been trying to cross the health food line. After a few encounters with Ms. Stacy, my Dad’s raw-foodies friend, with great skin, I decided I needed to do something. Knowing that I could not go raw, hell, I can’t even get though breakfast staying on any type of diet, so this one had to be a lifestyle change. I did have to invest in 3 new raw cook books and a kitchen gadget before I could admit this to myself. New about month later, I’m still contemplating on just what type of change I’m up for. The ultimate goal is to just eat way more fruits and vegetables, if you know me and are laughing, don’t worry I am to. So each week I try this, every Monday before dinner time…I promise myself I’ll start the next week.

Well kids, it’s a new week, and I ate 2 cookies, before, breakfast today. Woohoo go me.

But last night I made something healthy.

Ready?

Turkey with Wild Rice over Butternut Squash and Swiss Chard


1 Package super lean ground turkey

1 Tbl  favorite mean seasoning

1 cup water or chicken stock

2 cups cooked wild rice (I used some help here from sue chef Joe, over at trader Joe’s, they sell cooked riced)

1 butternut squash

2 cups water/chicken stock

2 Tbl Olive oil

2 Tbl minced garlic 

3/4 cups onion, small chopped

2 bunches Swiss chard stems removed a roughly chopped


1. In pan #1, brown the turkey meat.

2. While turkey meat is cooking, use a vegetable peeler to remove the skin from the squash, remove the seeds and cut the squash into 1/2 inch cubes.

3. In pan #2, a big one, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add onions and garlic. Saute for 5 minutes, the onions should be soft and have a little color to them. Add all the squash, stir everything in pan #2 together. Add the 2 cups of water or stock, cover the pan with a lid, leave the lid slightly askew to let steam out. Let the squash cook about 10 minutes or just until tender.

4. The turkey should be brown at this point. Add your favorie seasoning and the 1 cup of water or stock. Stir everything so the seasoning get distrubited equally. When most of the water has evaporated, add the rice. Stir to heat through, and set pan #1 aside.

5. Back to pan #2, when the squash has just become tender remove the lid, turn up to heat to med-high and let the remaining liquid evaporate.

6. When almost off of the liquid is gone, reduce heat  back to medium, add the chard and put the lid back on pan #2. Let cook for 3 minutes. Remove the lid and stir to incorporate the chard and the squash.

7. To serve, mount 1 cup of the squash-chard mixture into a bowl, then top with 1/2 cup of the turkey and rice mixture.

 

 

Pictures to come, or at least that’s my intention….

Leave a Reply

